Fitness training and Muay Thai?

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by tokyo, Oct 26, 2010.

1. tokyo

tokyo Valued Member

I had this question included in another post, but as it wasn't really related to the main topic of that post I thought it might be a good idea to give it it's own post.

I am planning on starting Muay Thai training soon. Hopefully sometime in November. The sooner the better.

So I was thinking about getting P90x to supplement fitness training between classes. Is this a good idea or will the instructor give me a training regimen for the time between classes? I would like to be doing some form of training every day.

I was also thinking of doing yoga or thai chi on Saturdays. Something low impact that I can involve my girlfriend in. Would this be beneficial? If I had to I could use it as a warm up for my regular training that day.

2. DeliriousBeef

DeliriousBeef New Member

I'm no expert but ive been trainig for a while now. Personally i just jumped straight into training, because in my opinion the best thing for muay thai fitness is muay thai training itself. your instuctor wont necessarily give you any training regime for the time betwenn classes but im sure if you ask him him will hapily give you some things to do. A guy at our gym just left for uni so our instructor gave him some things to practice train with while he there. Mainly with someone so they can hold pads or on a bag if you have access to one. I tried yoga for a while but found it wasnt really for me, ive read in some articles that its good for flexibilty but that will come the longer you train. So thats up to you try it and find out or ask your instrutor he maybe able to advise you.
    Somebody else may be able to give you some more/better advice.
    Hope this helps.

Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  3. Emil

Emil Valued Member