First kickboxing class - a little annoyed

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by retrograde, Oct 19, 2007.

1. retrograde

retrograde Valued Member

After many years of 'traditional' martial arts, I decided I'd give kickboxing a go to improve my fitness and punching skills. I found a large gym that is really conveniently located for me and has a reasonable stable of fighters (the first advice I got from a kickboxing friend was: even though I'm just going for fitness, find somewhere that also trains fighters, or it is likely to be a bit sub-standard) with a credible instructor who I'd heard of.

I work in the martial arts industry, so I'm fairly aware of all the shonky people and deal out there, but at the same time, I wanted to keep an open mind. The first red flag for me was that their website didn't specify prices - just 'come in for a trial class for only $10 (which really isn't that cheap, most clubs I've ever trained with have offered a free trial, but it wasn't a huge deal to me) and one of our 'consultants' will speak to you about prices'. I pretty much knew this meant they would at least try and sell me on a range of 'packages', which always annoys me a bit. The second red flag was when I went in to organise the trial, and the girl behind the counter told me that she had no idea what the prices were, but the guy standing right next to me would speak to me about it AFTER the trial class this evening.

So I came in for the class and really enjoyed it. It was a good workout and everyone was quite friendly.