First Full Contact Fight - Training

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by trej, Jul 14, 2005.

1. trej

trej New Member

Hi guys im new to this forum, ive been training kickboxing for about 3 years am currently purple belt.
    Ive got my first fight coming up at the end of august, question is how do you guys prepare for a fight?
    Just looking to compare my own training ideas, plan is to get as much running and sparring/pad work in as I can for the next few weeks.
    I also weightlift twice a week, should I reduce or stop this completely until after the fight? Id prefer not to stop completely and lose the strength ive built up.
    Cheers :)

2. NaughtyKnight

NaughtyKnight Has yellow fever!

I'd start sleeping alot more. And up your intake of fat, thats good quality fat, not mc donalds.

That should give you some energy.

I'd just spar a hell of alot, get every one you know to go for a few bouts with you. Drill simple and devestating techniques into your mind.

3. Ikken Hisatsu

Ikken Hisatsu New Member

ive heard you shouldnt do any lifting for a week or two prior to the fight... cant remember where I heard that though :D

4. NaughtyKnight

I wouldnt know about the weight lifting. I have never had a full contact kickboxing fight.

You probably shouldn't lift though. It will drain energy that could be used for training and fighting.

5. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

it's all about Anaerobic road work and interval training

I wouldn't be focusing on strength training too close to the big fight.

I would spend my energy and focus my training on my anaerobic capacity.

Just running isn't what you need (I am sure you know this and hopefully after 3 years your trainer will have hipped you to the anaerobic side of training)... you need to be running in correlation to how many round your going to fight.