fear of sparring

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do Resources' started by Din, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Din

Din 3rd dan

i'm an assistant instructor . during classes or more specificallly during sparring there are quite a few students who are afraid to make contact. all they do is kick air. i have told them repeatedly to make some light contact at the very least touch the opponent because its the only way they are going to learn whether or not their kicks are accurately executed. i'm not asking them to knock their opponents out or throw powerful kicks. the most common excuse i'm hearing is 'it will hurt' or 'what if i hurt him/her'. this situation mostly occurs in the female students ( no offence ) and some of the primary school students.
    any ideas on how i can get them to overcome this fear of making contact during sparring.

if they are afraid to make contact in the dojo how are they going to defend themselves on the streets if needed.

2. Mort

Mort New Member

I had this problem when I first started sparring, as the club was quite new very few people were up for sparring and I ended up with a Chinese Green Belt who was female. I kept thinking that I shouldn't be hitting her (such a gentleman) and would pull my kicks and generally fight badly. All this stopped when a new Finnish student arrived and we had to spar, he went straight in with a spin-roundhouse and caught me full in the chest. I never worried about hurting anyone in sparring after that.

You could try some drills, pad them up and get them to take kicks from each other (not too hard) just to help them realise that it isn't that painful to kick or be kicked with light contact. When they realise this they can have more fun in the sparring as they'll realise that it doesn't hurt either them or their partner.

Enjoi

3. TigerAnsTKDLove

TigerAnsTKDLove Ex-TKD'er 2005.