Fear of Falling

Discussion in 'Judo' started by tkdally, Aug 23, 2006.

1. tkdally

tkdally Values sillyness in life

I have been doing Tae Kwon Do for three years and love every minute of it. I unforunately had an accident 18 months ago whilst sparring whereby I went to kick my opponent, she stepped forward at the same time and I lost my balance and fell backwards. Rather stupidly in hindsight, but I guess a normal gut reaction, I put my hand out behind me to break my fall but instead managed to break my wrist. I am now PETRIFIED of falling whilst doing TKD as a result of this and I need to work out how to get over it.

Falling, and how to break falls, is not part of my TKD training so I am thinking of taking up Judo to help conquer my phobia. Could you Judoka answer some questions for me:

1) Will Judo help me achieve my aim (get over fear of falling)
    2) If not, can you recommend something that might help me?
    3) Is my injury likely to cause me a problem whilst training - the last thing I want to do is injure it again.
    4) Do you think Judo would complement my TKD training as we mainly focus on kicks and hand combinations, not how to fight on the ground or how to throw?
    5) I am not the skinniest of women so would my weight be an issue (I'm a UK size 16) - I wouldn't like to go into a class and other students not be able to throw me because I'm too heavy.

Would be pleased to hear what you think.

PS - I had considered taking up Aikido but my wrist can still on occasion cause me problems and wrist locks are something I need to avoid.

2. CraigUsher

CraigUsher Valued Member

Judo will help you with your falling phobia as long as they teach breakfalls properly. In Jiu-Jitsu we run through all the breakfalls in our warmup at the start of each class - But we didnt do that for the short time I done Judo, they just expected us to know it.

Im sure if you ask you will be shown the proper way to fall, its like riding a bike when you learn them.

3. Big Ash