(Dr. Yang Jwing-Ming Fighting Set) Breaking Someone's Structure?

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by KrazyKaiju, Oct 4, 2008.

1. KrazyKaiju

KrazyKaiju New Member

:confused:

Hello, everyone!

I'm a Tai Chi student in college who has been training for a year. This is one of my first posts, and I hope to learn alot by coming here.

I had a quick question regarding imbalancing a well-rooted opponent, particularly in context of Dr. Yang Jwing-Ming's 2 person fighting set.

Say I'm the "bad guy" (I punch first). I tend to have a difficult time with the move preceding the second punch.

Also, much later in the form (I forget if it is the bad guy or the good guy), I proceed to do "diagonal flying", but I find this one to be rather troublesome.

I've been told (not by my teacher, but by a senior student) that I may not be settled enough in the back leg, I may have to come in closer, etc.

While I feel that all of these things are probably true, I also feel that I don't have a good grasp of the concept of "breaking someone's structure" from a physiological/anatomical standpoint. Whenever I do something, I like to know what I'm doing and why it worked. :)

What are some general rules of thumb for breaking structure?

2. crushing step

crushing step Valued Member

Breaking of the structure really is just a term to help you conceptualize the idea of putting someone off balance, mostly by disrupting their center of gravity.

In diagonal flying for example, you have a step of the right leg, a weight shift to that right leg, and a turning of the hips all supporting the motion of the right hand making the extension. It's the step in, weight shift and turning that will disrupt your partner's center of gravity and therefore "break his structure". The arm movement is then merely a toppling motion.