Dojang owner, "grandmaster" 8th dan, olympic head coach, international referee???

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Valentinus, Jun 18, 2015.

1. Valentinus

Valentinus New Member

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I am brand new to martial arts. I am an adult who has been meaning to get started for quite a while but various things have prevented that.

As I am now getting started at my local TKD club, I find myself a little skeptical of the claims being made by the owner. He is Korean and older, but I can't verify that he was ever an olympics head coach, nor where he got his 8th degree black belt from.

He signed me up for a 18 month contract at three 45 minute classes/week, suggesting that I might be a deputy BB by that time. He said my height (6'4") will help me progress.

I know there is a lot of talk of Mcdojangs and I was very clear when speaking to him that I wanted to learn "traditional" TKD as well as the sparring rules. He assured me that TKD is "all encompassing" and then showed me a couple joint locks.

Here is the website of the club. There is no mention on the website of affiliation, but the school's business card says U.S. TKD Union. From what I understand, this is the same as TeamAmerica, but their website does not show this school as a member. http://www.ustkdstuart.com/

I would appreciate a little guidance here as I am new and want to make sure I train at the right place. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

2. Prizewriter

Prizewriter Moved on

Hello and welcome. Okay some thoughts:

Sorry to say but 18 month contract would be a red flag...

Suggesting you will have a belt within a certain time frame before you've really began training is also a red flag...

From what I can tell, Amerstate University is not an accredited college in the USA. So his masters degree could be of dubious quality. Another red flag....

If you enjoy it though keep at it.

3. Unreal Combat

Unreal Combat Valued Member