Doing Tai Chi in the park

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Ventguy, Sep 28, 2012.

1. Ventguy

Ventguy Valued Member

I am still very new at this but wondering when you get over the self conciousness or the feeling everyone is watching you?

I also had a friend who does Tai Chi and while doing it in a park, had someone stop and tell him why he was doing it all wrong.

Neale

2. Dan Bian

Dan Bian Neither Dan, nor Brian

When you learn that what other people think doesn't really matter. :hat:

Four little words for that situation:
    "It's a different style."
    And it ties into the first point as well. There will always be people who want to throw in their tuppence, but it's down to you to decide whether you pick it up.

3. YouKnowWho

YouKnowWho Valued Member

When Jesus preached to the people, should he care about people watching him? When people watching you, they will make you to feel important. Is that a good feeling?

The moment that you think positive, the moment that it won't bother you for the rest of your life. To develop self-confidence infront of a lot of people is a very important skill in your life career path.

Last edited: Sep 29, 2012
  4. Ventguy

Ventguy Valued Member

Funny thing

I am in the public eye for a living as a performer, so it is not being looked at.
    I guess it is because I am still self concious of being a 53 year old guy who is overweight exercising in the park.

Good news is that I have lost over 50 pounds in the last year and a half.

Neale

5. YouKnowWho

YouKnowWho Valued Member

I'm 12 years older than you. Training in the park won't bother me a bit.

6. Hatamoto

Hatamoto Beardy Man Kenobi Supporter

You gotta train somewhere, might as well do it somewhere pretty, such as a park :)
    And so what if you're overweight? You're exercising. What are they doing? ;)

7. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

It could be worse, they could be looking at someone else. [​IMG]

8. Ventguy

Ventguy Valued Member