Doce Pares not Doce Pares

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by shootodog, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shootodog

shootodog restless native

so doce pares that isn't doce pares? why would you call yourself doce pares if you're not from the 1929 founded organization?

2. kalislash

kalislash Valued Member

Hi Kapatid(brother) I never mentioned that I am from the doce pares group ,Isaid i studied doce pares style :D

3. shootodog

doce pares style of doce pares multistyle? the one founded in 1932 in cebu?

Last edited: May 19, 2007
  4. BGile

BGile Banned Banned

Styles and systems, are interrelated.

So if you did a style of "arnis" is it Ernesto Presas or his brother's Remy?

Or better yet your style is confusing the neighborhood (barrio/system/tribe).

Generic terms have taken it to a new height in todays groups, they want the terms, arnis, escrima, and kali to be generic. The name's of the person who taught it to be the factor, or is it the other way around :rolleyes:

Gary

5. tim_stl

tim_stl Valued Member

because you developed in another place with no knowledge of a doce pares organization in cebu, or before the existence of the doce pares club in cebu.

tim

6. shootodog

that's a possibility.

some might argue that it isn't likely, but it is likely.

7. kalislash

kalislash Valued Member

Try,to figure out that the generic name sikaran (the way we kick) is the Sikaran of other .Some strike with 3,5,7,8,12 and honestily he said that they were not the said group .And he said that his doce pares is old not modern (KINARAAN) :)

8. shootodog

then please explain the name of doce pares kinaraan. who is the founder? you claim it is older than dpa (since 1932), when was it founded? where was it founded?

doce pares association got it's name from the 12 pairs (pares) of bastons of the 12 maestros that founded the club in cebu.

9. kalislash

kalislash Valued Member