Doce Pares Eskrima.

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by 40k, Sep 17, 2013.

1. 40k

40k New Member

Just seen this add for Doce Pares Eskrima in Sunderland. Is this guy legit?, with the web-site it just looks like eskrima is an after thought.
    I want to learn Eskrima but not if it is just made up. Anyone shed any light?.
    I am new to all this so I appreciate any info. From anyone who know.

http://gorihochishinkenseikaidojo.webs.com/

2. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

I don't have any special insight, but I'd agree with you that it looks suspect. He's already professing to teach four Japanese styles. My suspicion (and it is only that) is that he's done a seminar or two and thought it looked good in the marketing. Nothing in the pictures on FMA either.

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

He's not on this list anywhere.

I'll send him an e-mail when I get home tonight asking who he trains under.

Haha, look at the name under the picture "Brain" Ford.

It helps if you can get your name right.

Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  4. Simon

I've sent Brian a polite e-mail asking about his affiliation.

I'll let you know if I receive a reply.

5. 40k

40k New Member

Thank you for your help and assistance, I appreciate it.
    I would like to learn this art from a reputable instructor. To train with him I would need to travel some distance and if I am to do so I would like it to be worthwhile.
    As I said I am a beginner and value the expertise of you guys 'in the know'.

Regards

6. EmptyHandGuy

EmptyHandGuy Valued Member

I remember reading somewhere not too long ago about someone in Sunderland teaching eskrima but I'm not sure it was doce pares, there is a doce pares club in Chester-le-Street and then there's the Guba Doce Pares class run at Moi Fa in Walkergate (see link in signature).

7. EmptyHandGuy

Could I ask where you would be traveling from?

8. Simon