do you wash your belt?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by saikyou, Jan 5, 2004.

1. saikyou

saikyou New Member

do you wash your belt? when i was a newbie, a fellow student told me not to wash my belt. i grew to the habit of not washing it. how bout you guys?

2. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

I know someone who washed their red belt with their white do-bok.

Result was a pink do-bok.

3. bcullen

bcullen They are all perfect.

Nope, For us its part of the tradition.

4. Freeform

Freeform Fully operational War-Pig Supporter

I washed every new belt I got to reduce the staining on my gi, but apart from that, no.

Col

5. Darkflames21

Darkflames21 New Member

I used to, but I was told by my master to never wash my belt.

6. booksie_girl

booksie_girl Lucy the Terrible

I do TKD, but I also don't wash my belt, because my instructor told me not to when I started, he said there was a superstition that the knowledge would wash out, and a more practical reason that the colour would was out, leaving you with a rather faded looking belt.

7. Nerevar

Nerevar A son of a mother

You do mean "Karate" belts right? 'Cause I would never wash my leather casual wear belt!:D

8. 47Ronin

47Ronin New Member

Nope, never have never will.

9. Andrew Green

Andrew Green Member

This thread stinks :D

Wash your belts, just not in the washing machine.

10. Kwajman

Kwajman Penguin in paradise....

Nope nope nope.....

11. Nerevar

Nerevar A son of a mother

What if your bealt is drenched in blood and/or vomit? Never say never.

12. Kof_Andy

Kof_Andy New Member

You deserve a bonk on the head if you can get vomit on it.

13. Cain

Cain New Member

LOL! :D

I never have even thought about it, washing my belt that is ;)

|Cain|

14. RubyMoon

RubyMoon New Member

Your belt symbolizes your journey from innocence to master, and eventually back to innocence. Imagine there were no colored belts at all, just the white one you started with.