Do you like the pre-modern bladed stuff or the post modern-per the "fantasy"?

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by 47MartialMan, Apr 28, 2012.

1. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

This was a question presented to Hannibal.

Hannibal, do you like the pre-modern bladed stuff or the post modern-per the "fantasy"?

That said, hopefully we can talk "sharp", er "shop"

I am still learning about metallurgical science.

The process of using metal for cutting tools and weapons like knives and swords had changed.

What are these different types of metals through out time that many people overlook or those who care to discuss?

Per example; Damascus steel

Who, among the post modern era, still craft quality?
    Per example; J. Arthur Loose, Jake Powning, Dave Stephens, Walter Sorells, Don Fogg, etc.

And where, have you seen the largest collection of blades assemble under one roof?
    For example; the closest place I have ever visited to display(old) / or sell was the Smokey Mountain Knife Works

Do you like the pre-modern bladed stuff or the post modern-per the "fantasy"?

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Can we have video examples?

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Fantasy style (this is a Kit Rae blade, perhaps the most conspicuous maker)

[​IMG]

Pre-Modern style ("Nessmuk" blade by Dean Hazuka - I own a knife of this exact style - a thing of beauty)

[​IMG]

Pre-Modern Combat knife (karambit actually!)

[​IMG]

Modern knife, Hannibal likey - Tom Brown T-1

[​IMG]

4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Oh, right. I like both, I don't plan on using either though ^^

5. Hannibal

The more "flash" on a knife, the less I usually like it

6. Oddsbodskins

Oddsbodskins Troll hunter 2nd Class