Difficulties in crosstraining

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by Counter, Jun 7, 2007.

1. Counter

Counter Train more. Train harder.

Hi people,

I've been doing taekwondo for quite a while now, and since a few months I'm taking boxing classes next to it to complement my style a bit. Now does that give some difficulties (unsurpisingly I guess..) since my taekwondo stance and tactics are quite different from the boxing stance.
    I tend to keep my hands too low and my feet in a too vertical stance. Now am I not looking for comments like "boxing is way more effective, you should quit taekwondo" and the like, but I'd really like to know how I can effectively melt my boxing a bit into my taekwondo movements or how I can best train to overcome this problem.
    My stamina, agility and strength are good for the moment since I am used to hard training and fighting tournaments.

Looking forward to your answers!
    Regards,

Bas

2. narcsarge

narcsarge Masticated Whey

Not that I am an expert or anything but combining the 2 styles would be done while training and not in competitions or promotions so I am a bit confused where your issues are. It seems rather easy for me to change my "walking stance" a bit to accomodate my boxing training. Though not a true TKD or Boxing stance, the hybrid allows me to sit on a punch or, launch an effective kick.

The hands too low is probably a result of your TKD training. The easiest solution to this would be to go a few rounds with a boxing instructor or boxing opponent. Pain is a wonderful teacher but taking a few pokes to the nose will get your hands up.

3. Counter

Yeah I don't want to combine the two styles for competition purposes, just to feel like a more "complete" fighter ;)