Differences in Styles

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Greyghost, Sep 13, 2002.

1. Greyghost

Greyghost Alllll rrigghty then!

Hi.....

I have been practising Yang Style Tai chi for just under 2 years and have completed the 24, 42 competition and the 88 step...i have also just started the 97 Sun style...

My question was....i have obviously noticed the differences in stance and posture between Yang and Sun style....but can anyone tell me historical difference...ie how they came about and when the seperated...assuming they were ever the same style.

Any information would be appreciated.

regards

fraser

2. Kat

Kat Valued Member

Sun Lu Tang was well versed in XingYi Ba Gua Zhang and Yang TJQ,it was said that he was influenced by all 3 when he made Sun style.
    After saying this I presume what you are learning is the standardised form,created by the PRC.There can be minor diferences in training and form movements between the PRC forms and other versions.
    Best to search google for Sun Lu tang for the Historical prespective.
    Hope that usefull

3. Greyghost

Hi,

the version of Sun style comes directly from Sun Lu Tang's grand daughter. I was taught the 97 step Sun Style and the 88 step Yang style by Professor Lee De Yin. Who works for the People's University of China and is the state-level coach in Beijing Martial Arts Committee. I have also had some Xing Yi lessons as well...

But my background knowledge of where it comes from is still lacking .....i will search google as you suggested...thanks kat.

4. Jim

Jim New Member

Have you guys seen this site? www.real-stick.com I'm not promoting/demoting it in any way, just wondering as to the legitamacy of it.

Feedback would be appreciated.

5. Kat

Kat Valued Member

Jim