Deadlifts, Dizziness, and Disproportionate Lifts

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Banpen Fugyo, Sep 17, 2012.

1. Banpen Fugyo

Banpen Fugyo 10000 Changes No Surprise

Hello, few questions:

I'm 6'4" 205lbs and I've been lifting on and off for years. This time around I've been hitting the gym 3x a week very consistently. My personal records are as follows …

Bench 190 est 1RM
    Squat 240 est 1RM
    Deads 330 est 1RM (probably more)

Deads seem to keep getting higher and higher every week, while most everything else I do seems to be a bit of a struggle. I know that generally deads are higher for most people but I was wondering if there was a correlation between height and deadlift proficiency, as it seems my shorter training partners have the opposite problems as I do.

Secondly, since I started lifting over 240, I get very lightheaded after deadlift sets. I'm breathing in on the way down and exhaling on the way up. I heard holding my breath might help? I've also heard having my lungs 3/4 full might help? I just don't want to face plant into the free weights :)

2. Ero-Sennin

Ero-Sennin Well-Known Member Supporter

Long arms are usually on taller people, which help tremendously in pushing weight since it doesn't have to go so far. Complete opposite of pull-ups/benchpres for taller people.

Stand up slower and don't just let go of the weight (meaning set it down, don't just drop it from the standing and if you do that in the gym I friggen hate you! ; D). I've always gotten a little light headed from deadlifts of any lower back exercise and I've tried everything with breathing. Definitely don't hold your breath!

3. Banpen Fugyo

Banpen Fugyo 10000 Changes No Surprise

I was thinking that holding your breath is stupid too, but the reasoning behind it is that holding it for the full movement (inhale, lift off, stand, back down, exhale) is a way to keep your spine and abs rigid, preventing a back injury.