Choosing Sai

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by Redhotdragon, Oct 1, 2003.

1. Redhotdragon

Redhotdragon New Member

Hi, I'd like to buy a pair of Sai. I've never used the weapons before, but have experience with the Bo, Nunchaku and a bit of Tonfa work, how should i choose length/type? Thanks
    rhd

2. Redhotdragon

Redhotdragon New Member

Anyone...?

3. gojuman

gojuman Valued Member

the sai should be longer than your fore arm and hand, so that when held in closed position the butt should extend about one inch beyond your extended fingers and the tip should extend about and inch or two beyond your elbow.
    This is a little difficult to describe in words. I hope you understand. If the sai is too short you will hit your self and not have the proper balance when performing a flip strike. If it extend too far beyond the length of your elbow it will be too unmanagable.
    Oos

4. Redhotdragon

Redhotdragon New Member

Thank you very much!!! Would you recomment rubber sai or chrome? octagonal or round?

5. gojuman

gojuman Valued Member

You should use strong chrome plated steel. Octaganal is good because of the sharp edges to fully utilize the control properties the weapon has. The sai is not just for swinging around like a ninja turtle. It has some wonderfuly painful joint control properties, come alongs, and other control and self defense techniques.

6. David

David Mostly AFK, these days

Sais are lovely. Yeah, make sure you get them long enough.

Rgds,
    David

7. Jocko

Jocko New Member

sais are awesome. great against swords

8. xubis

xubis New Member

I have sai.. but.. *gulp* I am not being trained how to use them. I just teach myself things with them.. I have a pretty long pair, oct. and chrome

9. mknightsiu

mknightsiu New Member

Xubis. Watch your toes! when you start doing manipulations with them ...if they get away from you... the longer crome ones have a tendency to stick in to things like toes and feet...haha..

10. electrobes