[China] Travelling to China

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by jcasey01, Aug 24, 2008.

1. jcasey01

jcasey01 New Member

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to martial arts but I want to travel to China and learn some form of martial arts

Ideally what I would like to do is to travel to China and learn the basics of some form of internal martial arts very well so when I leave I could continue practicing myself.

It does'nt matter to me if I'm in a school or getting one to one training, but I want to learn authentic martial arts not the edited wushu versions. Also I would like to try ad learn mandarin and some aspect of TCM

I've been looking into places to study using the internet and travel books and have found four places

1) Shaolins.com; Martial Arts Academy located in Ye He Ancient Castle.Si Ping Ji Lin P R China. This school looks to be official and also offers language courses, but I'm weary of paying large sums of money as many of the travel books say many schools claim to teach authentic stuff when in fact it could be more official wushu type teaching

2) Shaolin Si in yellow river, this area seems to be a bit of a tourist trap as far as reports go

3) Taoist wudang boxing in the wudang shan region

4) Budi Zhen martial art school in Yangshuo in the Guangxi and Guizhou which teaches a combo of shaoln and wudang kung fu. It comes highly recommended but recently I heard that they are no teaching wushu versions

If you've heard about any of the schools (if there authentic, if there teaching is good)?
    If you know of other places that would have the patience to deal with a complete novice?

Any advice about travelling to China for the first time

Thanks a lot

2. Prons

Prons New Member

I'm a big noob so if this sounds dumb, don't pay me any mind, but isn't Wu Shu what they teach in China these days mainly? Was I misled to think that?

Also if you haven't already, learning chinese = good idea :)

3. Spinal

Spinal Valued Member