Characteristics of your style

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Dao, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Dao

Dao Valued Member

G'day,
    I have very little experience with Silat but have been an enthusiastic observer for the past 20 years or so, as my teacher has always taught Pencak Silat as well as jujutsu.

The style of Silat that he teaches looks to be characterized by the use of deceptive weight transfers and using position and movement to alter the fighting distance.
    There is much more to it than that but from my observations this would be characteristic of his style.

What is characteristic of your style, or styles of Silat you have obseved?

Dao

2. nasigoreng

nasigoreng Valued Member

you need to check out Don Draeger's classic "Weapons and Fighting arts of Indonesia.

I just remembered some awesome podcasts by Omar Hakim who is an instructor of Kuntao Tekpi. He is very well-informed about silat. In these podcasts he discusses his research into Silat.

http://www.tekpi.org/Tekpi.Org/Podcasts/Podcasts.html

3. pakarilusi

pakarilusi Valued Member

My Family Style focuses on weapons fighting.

The main weapon is the Golok Perak. A knife similar to the Parang.

From day one, the student is taught with a weapon. Of course, a mock weapon first... ;)

The logic is that we focus on the "worse case scenario" first, life or death armed confrontations, then work our way to lesser degrees of confrontations.

The Focus in my Style is on the Permainan (some call this Pulut). It is a game-like training, the focus in my Style is not on the Jurus or Buah (step by step set attack and defense movements).

But my Family Style is a relatively "old school" style, so it is a bit different in its approach.

4. Rebo Paing

Rebo Paing Pigs and fishes ...

In a nutshell? We seek to be able to move and express power efficiently and naturally. We practice for insight into the proficient body method via the principles for natural movement (krida). As a guide to insight, we keep in mind that;