Career - Where to go from here?

Discussion in 'MMA' started by The Decay of Meaning, Dec 25, 2009.

1. The Decay of Meaning

The Decay of Meaning Valued Member

I have a few questions which will be highlighted.

I've been involved in martial arts since I was a little kid. I've been watching MMA fights for a few years now, and my trainer has also started doing MMA competitions. I've often thought the MMA wannabees are silly creatures, getting involved in martial arts for the purpose of being to be a UFC star or whatever.

However, an episode which happened Saturday this week changed my outlook and I have decided to pursue a career in MMA. This is a long term goal.

Right now I am studying and having a part time job. I am currently doing BJJ and boxing, but I would like to expand the skill set by doing some kickboxing or karate.

Time is a constraint here, and I don't want to quit my studying because a plan B is always a good thing to have. I can't see how I can squeeze in karate or kickboxing classes. How should I proceed from here?

I have planned to start doing MMA competitions when I get my brown or black belt in BJJ. Is there any point in starting any sooner?

Also, when you've started going into competitions, what are the best ways to get promoted and making a name for yourself?

Last edited: Dec 25, 2009
  2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

I'm not a pro but here goes:

Honest answer? Drop boxing and take kickboxing. Karate IMHO will not give you a solid base if you want to be an mma fighter not unless you're some super freak like Machida (I mean that as a term of respect for the guy) boxing is far better and kickboxing is better than that. If the classes don't coincide then boxing is still a good art to have before starting mma.