can you tell someones teacher by the way they move

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by tai-gip, Sep 3, 2003.

1. tai-gip

tai-gip New Member

Ive had a few instructors, when i pretended i was a beginner new to martial arts in a trial class, tell me to forget it and go back to so and so ..... but i cant tell... can anyone else ...and if so how??

Last edited: Sep 3, 2003
  2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

I hope not - that would indicate cloning rather than education.

3. Kinjiro Tsukasa

Kinjiro Tsukasa I'm hungry; got troll? Supporter

Probably not, in my style -- you're supposed to make all the moves your own.

4. juramentado

juramentado lean, mean eating machine

yes, you can tell if someone studied an martial art and if you are familiar with the various teachers of the style, you can also figure out who he studied under.

In a lot of arts, especially the large ones, you have various teachers with their own following. And each of these teachers often have their own interpretations of the style and what they prefer to emphasize when they teach. Naturally these different students will move with some unique characteristics.

5. tai-gip

tai-gip New Member

Cloning yoda? just imagine a class full of tai gips lol

6. Kinjiro Tsukasa

Kinjiro Tsukasa I'm hungry; got troll? Supporter

Well, bunny rabbits are known for their prowess in multiplication! :D

7. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

I've had classes like that.

The emotional scars will heal in time :p

8. tai-gip

tai-gip New Member

lol im in classes like that
    lol im in classes like that
    so am i
    Cool avatar kinjiro

9. shadow joe

shadow joe seeker of truth