boxing training for jkd

Discussion in 'Jeet Kune Do' started by Black&Blue, Jan 25, 2016.

1. Black&Blue

Black&Blue New Member

Hello everyone, I'm new around here and I've got a question for you jkd guys. Do any of you do any formal western boxing training along with your jkd training? I have been training in jkd for about 18 months but due to my work schedule I can only attend class once a week on Saturdays. There is a boxing gym close to where I work and I could train there during the week before work. Since western boxing techniques are apart of jkd I think it would be beneficial to me. Also, so much of the material covered in my jkd training is heavy on the wing chun and trapping stuff and not enough boxing/kickboxong. What do you guys think?

2. B3astfrmthe3ast

B3astfrmthe3ast Warning:Extreme power!!

honestly i recommend boxing training to any martial artist looking to make themselves better as a striker boxing even though ive heard some say they feel like the punches are overcommited but no one can deny the footwork, angles, head movement is great for any striker so i would say boxing training will def benefit you

3. Black&Blue

Black&Blue New Member

Thanks for the reply. What really interests me with the boxing is the defense techniques, head movment, and footwork. Also, I think it would be good to actually get more sparring in. I feel there too many drills and not enough actual sparring in my jkd training. I tried talking to my jkd instructor about the boxing training and he sort of seemed offended about me training at another school.

4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

You should absolutely go boxing :)

5. Knee Rider

Knee Rider Valued Member Supporter

Definitely explore boxing. Stuff your instructor, you need to take charge of your own development. Any JKD instructor who doesn't encourage cross training is aa living oxymoron to me.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2016
  6. Prizewriter

Prizewriter Moved on