Boxing for beginners

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by TurtleHermit, Nov 19, 2013.

1. TurtleHermit

TurtleHermit New Member

Hey

I'm interested in starting boxing, there's a club where I live but I have no experience in it, so what I wanted to know was what to start with how to start with, looking for some newbie advice.

I do have experience in other MA. around 13 years.

Any info will help

Hermit

2. Kave

Kave Lunatic

Check that the gym produces fighters that don't embarrass themselves in the ring. Boxing is a sport, so clubs are judged on results. If some of your 13 years previous experience in martial arts is in heavy contact striking arts like muay thai then the fact that you are used to a high level of contact will help you greatly. If your previous experience is in low contact arts and being punched hard in the face will be a new experience, then your previous experience probably won't help a great deal. You will probably need 16oz gloves for sparring, and you will definitely need a good mouthguard, but you should talk to your coach about what equipment you are expected to use before you go off and buy anything.

Have fun, boxing is an amazing martial art.

3. belltoller

belltoller OffTopic MonstreOrdinaire Supporter

What martial art did you study previously and what made you decide to have a go a this?

^ This. Using Kave's comment as a bench mark will also help you to stay clear of places that don't teach real boxing - ones that are "Dance your way to a fit ****" disguised as a boxing class.

And a heads-up. The best boxing clubs are not usually located in the best areas of town.

4. TurtleHermit

TurtleHermit New Member

all in a time span of 13 years I studied wtf tkd for 10 years isshin ryu karate for 5 and Olympic wrestling for 3.

5. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Be sure to look at the clubs reputation first and what fighters are representing them.