Boxing Book

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by EdiSco, Dec 6, 2015.

1. EdiSco

EdiSco Likes his anonymity

Championship Fighting: Explosive Punching and Aggressive Defense by Jack Dempsey.

Howdy all, is this a good book on boxing? I'm looking for a good no nonsense book on boxing has anyone read this one? It has very favorable reviews on Amazon.com.

Went for my 1st beginner's boxing class yesterday - it was more awesome than I thought :) Not sure I also wana do Judo once a week too as I think it would just hinder my progress in boxing? Boxing is all you need if you also lift imo.

E

Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  2. GoldShifter

GoldShifter The MachineGun Roundhouse

I'm not sure about other opinions on here, but I've found myself slow down with my explosiveness with I started lifting alot during martial arts. If you can incorporate a fair amount of plyo into your routines, with some functional lifts that work multiple major muscle groups, that'd be awesome cause you most likely won't slow down from the extra weight because your muscles already got accustomed to it through the plyo.

3. belltoller

belltoller OffTopic MonstreOrdinaire Supporter

I haven't read the book - it does sound like one I'd like to pick up - as the author is non other than Jack Dempsey, I'm sure it'd offer some nuggets.

So what did you do in your beginner's class on the first day? Is this a boxing gym - i.e. a fighter producing gym or is it being offered as an allied course in an MMA school, etc.,?

Just had a debate about that very topic recently...my view being that there was more than enough to learn if one were to dedicate themselves exclusively to that end. If one is spending half their training day engaged in another art, then that's half the training day ( or available time ) that one is not training in boxing.