Body Weights and cardio to reach my goal?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Joel_, Apr 12, 2012.

1. Joel_

Joel_ New Member

Hello everyone. Need some advice here, I've been over thinking a lot of things lately and I just need to get some solid answers from people. I train in Choy li Fut kung fu, and have started doing some cardio and body weight exercises on days that I have not been into the kung fu school. I'm pretty new to martial arts so I wasn't in the best shape. (I'm getting there though)

My goals are simple, reduce body fat on my torso (maybe get a little six pack going), while maintaining muscle mass. I've decreased my calorie intake a little (cut all junk food from diet), increased my protein intake, and increased my cardio, all while doing a routine of push ups, chin ups, pull ups, squats, and ab work. I've convinced myself that this is enough to get where I want to be. I don't need to be huge, I just want a little more muscle and more tone. But now I keep second guessing myself, not sure if I'm eating enough, or too much. Anyways, thanks for looking. Tips appreciated. ;)

2. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

you want about 2g of protein per kg bodyweight.
    and you cant get too huge quickly. if you could id be hercules!

3. Mangosteen

also theres about 20g of protein per 100g of chicken breast/meat. its useful to know.

4. Joel_

Joel_ New Member

Do I really need that much protein if I'm only doing body weight exercise + kung fu, a few days a week? If so I do probably need to get more protein in my diet.

5. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

Don't get to caught up in the amount of protein per kilo of bodyweight arguement. Right now I would stick to a clean healthy diet and continue to train well.
    Give you current diet somewhere between 6 weeks and three months before you make any changes.
    If after this period you are not happy, then you can make the changes.