blind which martial art would be best for me?

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by elitegroupuk, Apr 24, 2010.

1. elitegroupuk

elitegroupuk New Member

hi i am new to this sight i have been thinking of doing martial arts for a little while now but i am not ure which martial arts would be best suited to me i lost my eyesight about 2 and a half years ago and am now registered blind. feel i need to do something for myself i live on the south side of birmingham by the lickey hills so if anybody can suggest any particular instructors it would be great,a couple of people have suggested a couple of aikido or wing chun would be suited any help much appreciated :hat:

2. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

Judo is a great starting point for most people anyway, and for the blind it makes even more sense because you can start off gripping the opponent and can do all of your techniques without having to see where they are.

Anything involving striking is going to be extremely difficult without being able to see the opponent, so a grappling art might be for the best.

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

I would totally agree. One of our most respected mappers (Koyo) always tells everyone to do Judo somewhere along the line.

I remember that we had an Olympic Champion from the UK who was registered blind.

4. Hatamoto

Hatamoto Beardy Man Kenobi Supporter

I dunno about aikido, but wing chun would probably be very good, Bruce Lee started out with that coz he had poor eyesight, I read somewhere (think he told it to something Hyams who related it in a book).

5. inthespirit

inthespirit ignant