battou-jutsu/iaijutsu

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by Yojimbo, Oct 28, 2003.

1. Yojimbo

Yojimbo New Member

i was going to post a question about battou-jutsu and iaijutsu because i was wondering whether thaey meant the same thing or not. but instead i found an interesting article that answers that question for me. check it out i know i am not the only person to ever wonder about this...

http://www.cjas.org/~echen/articles/spring99/02_27b.html

2. Dark Blade

Dark Blade It Roundhouse time

That guy got a lot of it from his theories on kenshin, as opposed to real fact.

In answer to what was going to be your question.
    Iaido is an entire art based on drawing the sword and sheathing it again quickly, Iaijutsu would simply mean the iai Technique.

Battou-Jutsu is just a Budo technique Kenshin uses, I believe.

I have seen most of the series and I am studying Japanese, but don't take my word for this.

3. Cudgel

Cudgel The name says it all

Last edited: Oct 29, 2003
  4. Kof_Andy

Kof_Andy New Member

Batto-jutsu is just and old name for iaijutsu, both means the same and is basically the same. Batto-jutsu is drawing sword technique and iaijutsu means same, but is a way to draw sword from iaido.

5. Dark Blade

Dark Blade It Roundhouse time

I see, cool.
    :p

6. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

From what I've picked up, iaijutsu is the orginal combative form of iaido, not a subset of the art (which I think was implied in this thread). Iaijutsu would have been learned at the same time as kenjutsu to allow the student to fight well starting with or without sword drawn.

I may be mistaken though, I haven't done iaido for that long

Last edited: Oct 30, 2003
  7. JediMasterChris

JediMasterChris Columbo

Yes battojutsu is a real art, but it's rare to find a Dojo, I don't know much about Iaijutsu but as far as I know Iaijutsu and Battojutsu are interchangable names, though I did ask that in chat and someone told me that they aren't (ronin mabey?)