At 44...stopped training 3 years ago. Too old to begin again?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by bigwoklun, Mar 15, 2013.

1. bigwoklun

bigwoklun Valued Member

I am 44, about 13 stone and 5ft 5.
    I stopped training over three years ago, but would like to begin again.
    Any tips or advice? Is age an issue to begin again?
    Cheers

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

44 certainly isn't to late to start again, you just need realistic goals.

When I gave up training and became an out of shape dad I wanted to train, but didn't like the idea of a tough class.

I joined an eskrima class and slowly got the bug back. I joined the Kung Fu class, got back into shape and not teach my own class.

Find something you enjoy, be realistic and take each day as it comes.

Keep hydrated, get plenty of sleep and most of all - have fun.

3. m1k3jobs

m1k3jobs Dudeist Priest

Age shouldn't be an issue. I started training BJJ when I was 52 and trained until I was 58. I finally hit the point where the knees and back wouldn't take it any more. I still keep in shape and actually starting to get the bug again. There is an eskrima school not to far from where I live and I may give that a shot.

4. ned

ned Valued Member

Im 45 and enjoy my training more and more as i get older(now my kids train with me!)
    What style did you do before and why"d you stop?

5. Giovanni

Giovanni Well-Known Member Supporter

no you're not too old. go train.

6. Guitar Nado

Guitar Nado Valued Member

I'm 45 and really only started training again seriously 14 months ago, so I can understand where you are coming from.

What was helpful to me was to find a school where there are some other people around my age, not just kids or 20 somethings. Also, I have a friend my own age that trains there. Helps to not feel like "the weird old dude".

Good luck to you!

7. Princess Haru

Princess Haru Valued Member