Am I too old to start Thai boxing and get good?

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by Shooter McGavin, Aug 30, 2011.

1. Shooter McGavin

Shooter McGavin New Member

Hi Guys,

Noob here so please go easy on me :p

I'm 28 and have just started going to Thai Boxing classes, and when I say just started, I really mean it, I've been twice :)

I've really enjoyed what I've done so far, basic combinations and pad work and assuming I'm good enough, would eventually like to try competing but it seems to me that a lot of the good fighters start quite young, like in their teens and by the time they get to my age have been doing it for ten years already!!

Is 28 too old to become proficient in Muay Thai and be able to compete. My existing level of fitness is pretty good, I run, play squash and lift weights regularly but curious to know what the general consensus from the guys in the know is?

Thanks for any replies

2. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

Much of it will depend on the state of your body and conditioning. Starting at 28 to compete as a professional? Probably not. Most are retiring by that age... but... never say never. You want to be realistic though. Start out and train for a bit... have a few club fights or inter-club fights.

Muay Thai is not running or lifting weights. It's primarily an anaerobic endeavor. Get in and train. Training is one thing... getting kicked in the face is something entirely different. Take your time and learn the proper techniques first. You need lungs and conditioning... for quite a while before you think of competing. You may find you don't like getting snotted and the low kicked. So really... pace yourself... try basic sparring after you get the basics down.

Anything else is A) not realistic B) not healthy. :)

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

To compete? Absolutely not too old!
    To get good? Absolutely not too old!