Advertising your Abilities

Discussion in 'Women's Self Defence' started by illyria1013, Apr 12, 2004.

1. illyria1013

illyria1013 New Member

I am a female and live in one of the bigger cities in the U.S. One of the primary reasons I started practicing the art was to protect myself in case I was ever physically assaulted.

Personally, I've always avoided having anything on me (outside of class) that might indicate that I practiced martial arts. (ex: MA T-Shirts, bumper stickers on my vehicle, etc.) To me, having a would-be attacker unaware of my abilities, makes for a higher possibility of defense and escape.

I have a few of my female classmates who do the opposite. Some have stickers on their cars advertising our dojo, some have martial arts trinkets on their key chains, and some wear their MA t-shirts in public. Some of the more younger and 'naive' ones even go around their school bragging about their abilities to their classmates. While the latter behavior shouldn't be encouraged, I can understand how those are proud of their affiliations may want to carry on them MA related items.

Do you think that sporting MA paraphernalia would discourage would-be attackers or encourage would-be attackers to be more 'prepared'? Can a balance between the two exist?

Your thoughts?

2. Buddroux

Buddroux New Member

well maybe if they know u practice martial arts they wont try anything ..

just my thoughts

3. CiNdY

CiNdY New Member

true but then if the attacker was determined to attack someone and see they have knowledge of ma then they will be expecting a victim who will put up a fight.. they might think oh well ill just whip out my knife or gun or whatever... it could go either way i spose.

4. Buddroux

Buddroux New Member

Yah .. it could go either way.. it really just depends how persistent the attacker is.
    And what he will do to get his way.

5. KickChick

KickChick Valued Member