Actual Street Encounters

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by tengu, Apr 16, 2004.

1. tengu

tengu Capoeirista "Paparazzi"

Hi! If this thread is re-treading old ground, my apologies, I'm studying many arts at the mo, and wanted to get some experiences from anyone, from any art that has had to use their art in ACTUAL COMBAT, could you please tell me all aboutyour experience successful or otherwise, as I'm finding my feet in the web of practicality, and finding it hard to stand up!

yours in the arts

2. carlos

carlos MAP Hoo Flung Dung Expert Supporter

TBH my training in TKD has helped me stay out of trouble.

I have been in less scuffles since taking up MA.

Although I was able to defend some one that was being punched. Thats about it.

3. Furikuchan

Furikuchan New Member

My sensei has all the better stories than I do. He's had to use his training multiple times, and he's always dealt with the situation without acually doing major damage to the attacker or restrainee. However his shining moment was about three weeks ago.
    He works at a group home for teenagers, most of which already have some problems with the law. Well, these kids have a bad tendency to try and skirt around the rules.
    A group of these girls had snuck out, gone to the corner store, bought beer, and were found trying to sneak into the boys' dorm. Well, this wasn't exactly in accordance with the group home policy, so Sensei had to do something about it. He blocked the way into the dorm, and ended up having to restrain one of the girls.