A traditional martial artist’s perspective on competitions

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Dunc, Mar 11, 2018.

1. Dunc

Dunc Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

This weekend I competed in a BJJ tournament for the 1st time and as someone who’s spent most of my life as a traditional martial artist I thought it may be interesting to share what I learned

My BJJ professors suggested that a) it’d be a good experience to develop my BJJ and b) it was as close to a real fight as you can come in a martial arts context

I’ve not taken part in competitive sports for about 20 years, but I thought “What the hell let’s give it a go and see what happens”

Probably this is my mid-life crisis kicking in....

First and foremost I loved the experience, I learnt a lot about myself, it certainly improved my BJJ and I will do it again

I didn’t find it particularly stressful or scary and, for me, it didn’t seem any more like a real fight than a particularly tough roll in the academy or having someone really go for it in TMA. So I’m not sure that I buy the “it’s the closest you can get to a fight” argument

I’d say that overall my TMA experience counted against me in the context of a BJJ competition. I do BJJ to develop my ground skills, so I found the standing part of the contest to be quite hard for 2 reasons:
    1. I was constantly stopping myself exploiting opportunities that would be appropriate in a TMA context and
    2. Many of the BJJ standing postures, take downs, guard pulls etc are not done in TMA so I wasn’t particularly well prepared to deal with them
    These factors acted as quite a hinderance when standing I think

For me the real value of competing was the opportunity to roll with people from very different “lineages” who used unfamiliar approaches and techniques. I found that my TMA background helped me deal with the unfamiliar/unexpected attacks, but competing showed me that I need to really focus on expanding my experience