A NEWBIE in the ART (FMA), w/c style to CHOOSE?

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by pinoy, Sep 10, 2004.

1. pinoy

pinoy Valued Member

:confused: :confused:

ei guys, dunno if this is a right question to ask, but am going to ask it anyway :bang: .

am a newbie in the ART and I really want to learn, is it important to choose the styles (i.e. kalis Ilustrisimo, PTK, KDL, LESKALAI, etc), or as a newbie, that would not be important :cry: .

Also what are the ange range of those training in the art? I mean, like me am 32yro now, would my age hinder me to train and learn fast?

pls help :cry:

tnx

2. NeilX66

NeilX66 Valued Member

I don't think the choice of art is particularly critical if your a complete beginner, but you should be aware that some of the styles have a very different emphasis, for example in Sayoc Kali the use of the blade predominates, to the extent that it has become the trademark of the style, so you will need to do a bit of research in to what you actually want to do, also its going to depend on where you are and which instructors you have access to, but the FMA are excellent all round arts, covering stick, knife etc, empty hands and which ever style you pick you will be exposed to everything eventually.

I wouldn't worry about your age either, I'm 34 and have just passed my 2nd degree black belt, and there are people both older and younger in my club.

What part of the world are you in?

Neil

3. chenstyle44

chenstyle44 Valued Member

which style? hmmmm.

HI,
    I think you should find a school first.
    Some areas of the world dont have a wide variety of styles to choose from and some have various styles but no substance. Im hoping I have some substance, but I have my doubts.
    Anyhow, go partake of a free class or ask to view the class before making up your mind and shop around. If the group wont let you view or offer a trial lesson then... they might not have a lot to view.
    Good luck.
    gord walker :bang:

4. E-Rocker