Ninjutsu (and other styles) in the streets

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by ompus, Oct 22, 2006.

1. ompus

ompus New Member

Hello all
    I'm trying to decide which fighting style to train
    I must admit that I'm a total newbie, I only trained ninjutsu for like 2 months and BJJ for one year, when I was very young.

The main styles that I'm interested in (and that I know martial art schools in my city which train them) are Ninjutsu, Hung Gar and Taekwondo.

I'm mainly looking for something that can work in the streets, something that I can compete with other people in competitions, and if possible an art that has something envolved with weapons.

I used to like ninjutsu while I trained it, it seemed to have a nice balance between speed and power, and the attacks looked useful.
    Hung Gar mainly interests me because of the competitions and the speed (I may be wrong, but here in Brazil I hear more of Hung Gar competitions than of Ninjutsu/Taekwondo ones).
    And lastly, Taekwondo seens interesting because my cousin does it and he keeps saying that it's the best style for street self-defence, but I'm not really into kicks and such, I think that attacks using elbows and hands would make me feel more interested.

Thanks in advance for the help.

2. 2E0WHN

2E0WHN Valued Member

Okay. First off, ninjutsu does not do competition. That is why you do not see it advertised. Secondly, if you want to spend 5 minutes gearing up to do one kick, then TKD is for you, so go for it.

But to put it into perspective, TKD would not last 5 minutes on a battlefield. With all the blood, dead bodies and ankle deep in mud, a nice TKD kick will just leave every available artery open and you will die in 4 minutes, 5 if you decide to try to stem the blood loss.

So do what you want. Be a ninja and claim to kill everyone with a spoon, or bounce about a rubber matted room pretending you are the man.

3. ompus

ompus New Member

Thanks for your reply, Immolation =D