Alright, complete newbie

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by mickblueeyes, May 31, 2006.

1. mickblueeyes

mickblueeyes Valued Member

I have studied MA for several years off and on in several styles, but have lost my enamorment with what I was studying. I studied Ishin-ryu with Sensei (and Sifu) Michael Gardner at TMU. I studied Wujai Taijiquan with Sifu Russell Sauls (pupil of Sifu Johnny Qwong Ming-Lee, current GM of My Jhong Law Horn).

As a rule, I prefer the fluidity of Chinese martial arts and have a strong distaste for rigid, linear movement. I have studied Chi Kung or Quigong, whichever you prefer both in the studio and on my own. The Japanese art I was always most impressed with was Aikido, again, due to the fluid, circular motions.

I stumbled upon this site because of a video I caught of Taihenjutsu. In searching for training methods for these nifty moves, I found you guys (and gals) :D

So for the sake of virtuous brevity (too late), here are my questions!

1. In some of my more formal training, I had been taught to disregard Ninjutsu and the "ninja" as assasains and thugs with no real root in martial art. However, in reading many of the posts here (hours worth, I mean really, can we get 1 more sticky up there ;) ) I can see that my initial thoughts were incorrect, or at least misguided. So can someone give me a quick breakdown of the legitimate schools of ninjustu (style-wise, not dojo-wise) and their abbreviated lineage. I am, of course, familiar with bujinkan thanks to this site.

2. I perused the www.ninjutsu.com site and found good information. Unfortunately, all the bujinkan dojo are too far from me. How difficult would it be to learn the premises of this style without a teacher? On a side note there is one dojo about 70 miles from me that I am considering driving to once a week. It is the bujinkan school in Chattanooga, TN. So, can I do this, as van Donk's site suggest's without a formal teacher on hand?